Complex networks: from socio-economic systems to biology and brain

July 13th - July 19th, 2019


  • Luca M. Aiello Bell Labs, London, UK
  • Orazio Angelini King’s College, London, UK
  • Luca Avena Leiden Univ., NL
  • Baruch Barzel Bar-Ilan Univ., IL
  • Hugo Barbosa University of Exeter, UK
  • Giulia Bassignana INRIA, Paris, France
  • Miguel Ibanez Berganza Univ. Sapienza, Roma
  • Johan Bollen Indiana Univ., USA
  • Giuseppe Brandi King’s College, London, UK
  • Arthur Capozzi ACMOS & Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy
  • Giovanni Catania Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Ciro Cattuto ISI Foundation, Torino, Italy
  • Giulio Cimini IMT Lucca, Italy
  • Michele Coscia IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Luca Dall’Asta Politecnico di Torino
  • Fabrizio De Vico Fallani INRIA, Paris, France
  • Tina Eliassi-Rad Northeastern University, MA, USA
  • Michael Emmerich Leiden Univ., NL
  • Leo Ferres Universidad del Desarrollo and Telefonica, Santiago del Chile, Chile
  • Daniel Freiman Universidad de San Andrés, Buenos Aires, AG
  • Santo Fortunato Indiana University, Bloomington, USA
  • Gourab Ghosham Rochester University, USA
  • Juliana Gonzalez-Astudillo INRIA, Paris, France
  • Philipp Hoevel University College Cork, Ireland
  • Vito Latora Queen Mary University London, UK
  • Nicola Lettieri INAPP, Italy
  • Luca Leuzzi Nanotec, CNR, Rome, Italy
    Fabrizio Lillo Università di Bologna, Italy
  • Delfina Malandrino Università di Salerno, Italy
  • Enzo Marinari Università Sapienza, Roma, Italy
  • Hernan Makse College City New York (CCNY), New York, USA
  • José Fernando Mendes University of Aveiro, Portugal
  • Ronaldo Menezes University of Exeter, UK
  • Daniela Paolotti ISI Foundation, Turin, Italy
  • Nicola Perra University of Greenwich Business School, UK
  • Giovanni Petri ISI Foundation, Turin, Italy
  • Mirko Pieropan Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Alessandro Pluchino Università di Catania, Italy
  • Alfredo Pulvirenti Università di Catania, Italy
  • Foster Provost New York University, NY, USA
  • Andrea Rapisarda Università di Catania, Italy
  • Silvia Scarpetta Università di Salerno, Italy
  • Rossano Schifanella Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy
  • Alfonso Semeraro Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy
  • Michael Szell IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Marijn ten Thij Indiana University, USA
  • Andrea Tacchella ISC-CNR, Rome, Italy
  • Alessandra Urbinati ISI Foundation, Turin, Italy
  • Anshul Verma King’s College, London, UK
  • Sebastiano Vigna Università di Milano, Italy
  • Salvatore Vilella ISI Foundation, Turin, Italy
  • Andrea Zaccaria ISC - CNR, Rome, Italy

Travel and accomodation

Participants will be arranged in comfortable hotels at very special rates. The conference room (located at Hotel Giardino sul Mare, Via Maddalena, Lipari) is air-conditioned and equipped with all conference materials. Special areas are reserved to students for the afternoon coursework and study. The island of Lipari can be easily reached from Milazzo, Palermo, Naples, Messina and Reggio Calabria by ferry or hydrofoil (50 minutes from Milazzo).


Registration fee is 470 €. The fee covers the course material, bus+hydrofoil Catania airport-Lipari-Catania airport, and social events.
The preferred payment method is bank transfer. Credit card payments are also accepted. Payment details will be provided after participation confirmation on the school website through a form in his profile page. The participant will also be able to download a pre-payment receipt if required for the payment to be made. In case of cancellation after fees payments, a 25% penalty will be applied. In case of credit card payment, processing fees cannot be reimbursed. Payment must be received by June 15th, 2019.

Deadline for application is July 15th, 2019. Applicants will be notified about admission by July 15th, 2019.
The official language is English.

Workshop committee

  • Andrea Gabrielli (ISC-CNR, Rome, Italy)
  • Tommaso Gili (IMT Lucca, Italy)
  • Guido Caldarelli (IMT Lucca, Italy)
  • Lucilla De Arcangelis (Univ. Napoli II, Italy)
  • Alfredo Ferro (University of Catania, IT)
  • Rosalba Giugno (University of Verona, IT)
  • Giancarlo Ruffo (Università di Torino, Italy)
  • Roberta Sinatra (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Andrea Pagnani (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Alfredo Pulvirenti (University of Catania, IT)
  • Diego Garlaschelli (IMT Lucca, Italy)
  • Miguel Angel Munoz (Univ. of Granada, Spain)
  • Tiziana di Matteo (King’s College, London, UK)